Grace turns two tomorrow

My first born turns two tomorrow, and I wanted to take a few minutes to reflect on this milestone.

There are so many things I adore about you, my sweet Gracie, but here are just a few that God has blessed me with these past year (since you turned one):

– your adorable gasp of excitement when you are enthralled with something

– how you wake up in the morning and call from your crib, “Me ‘wake now!”

– how you say “food, Mummy” first thing in the morning

– how you randomly and spontaneously sing your ABCs from start to finish about 6 times a day, declaring it to be your favorite song

– your ability to count from 1 to 10 (and 12 in the last few days!)

– how you ask “Mummy? Doin’?” as you’re way of asking what I’m doing

– how you recently started saying “love you so much” to express the extent of your affection. And about food, you say: “like dis so much. It’s best Mummy”

– the way you rock and burp and nurse your dollies so tenderly

– how you squeal “exciting!” whenever we tell you something that makes you happy (e.g. tomorrow is your birthday)

– the way you grit your teeth when you “pat Ruthie”, as if trying so hard to contain yourself!

– how you crunch up your nose and eyes and flash your teeth every time I get the camera ready to take a picture

– how you say “Mummy, me obey now” whenever I tell you that you need to be disciplined for disobedience

– the way you walk and run with you legs turned in ever-so-slightly

– the way you watch your feet when you run

– how you tell me that Daddy and Ruthie are your “best friends”

– how compassionate you are, being quick to kiss any injuries I have, and asking “Mummy okay now?” to make sure I’m alright

– how much you love to pray and how you say “Amen” at the end of prayers without prompting

– how you’re trying to teach Ruthie to do the same, holding her little hand while we pray and saying “Amen, Ruthie! Amen!” at the end of prayers to encourage her to say it (even though she’s many months away from talking)

– how you share your food with Daddy and me so willingly

– the way you sway back and forth to music

– how you love to “read” the Bible and how you tell me every time you open it “read uh Jesus, Mummy” (translation: reading about Jesus, Mummy)

– how you always ask to sleep in “Daddy’s big big bed” at night

– how you are sleeping willingly and happily in your crib tonight because I explained to you that Daddy and Mummy can’t both fit in our bed if you’re there too. Your compassionate self wanted to make sure Mum and Dad had enough room.

I could go on and on, sweet girl, but I should take advantage of the fact that both you and your sister are sound asleep and try to get some sleep of my own.

I love you more than words can say, and I am excited to celebrate your second birthday with you tomorrow.

Heading to bed thanking Jesus for the gift He’s given me in you.

Leave a Reply

